and without further ado – my best albums of 2008 list

I know I know. It January 7th, 2009. I should have had this done weeks ago! But hey, i’m a slacker, and I wanted to make sure I didn’t miss anything.

So without further ado – my Best Albums of 2008 list.

 

(in no particular order)

 

She & Him Volume One She & Him, Volume One

What can I say? I adore Zooey Deschanel more than any other female actress/singer alive. When I heard she and M. Ward were doing this project, I skipped, danced, jumped for joy. And it didn’t disappoint. Jon and I had the pleasure of seeing them perform at the Mercy Lounge this summer, and even live, the album held up.

 

Sigur Ros Med sud i eyrum vid spilum endalaustsigur-ros

There are not words to describe my love for this Icelandic band and their beautiful Hopelandic. I got to see them this summer, amidst thousands of other people at 1:00am in the morning at Bonnaroo. I watched for a little while, then just sat down, closed my eyes and drank it in. I don’t know if anything else topped that moment, music-wise, this year.

 

m83 Saturdays=Youth
M83

I don’t have a lot to say about this album, other than I love it. The song “Kim & Jessie” is one of my favorite songs on the album. I enjoyed the Pitchfork review of it, saying it pays homage to the teen dramas of filmmaker John Hughes (who I love – but that’s a whole ‘nother blog). You can read it here.

 

Bon Iver For Emma, Forever Ago Bon Iver

This could potentially be my favorite album of the year. I could listen to it everyday for the rest of my life. In fact, I might. Nuff said. Go buy this album. NOW.

 

MGMT Oracular SpectacularMGMT

So I added this on here – but then looked, and the digital copy technically came out in 2007, but the physical didn’t come out until 2008. Since I have the physical, it’s staying. This album is amazing. I enjoy listening to this one loud, with the windows down. 
 

Department of Eagles In Ear ParkDepartment of Eagles  

Department of Eagles is Daniel Rossen’s, of Grizzly Bear fame, side project. Its a beautiful album, and I would encourage anyone to buy it.

 

Fleet Foxes Fleet Foxesfleet-foxes

I don’t have much to say about this one, other than I love it. Some music touches your soul, and its hard to describe why or how or what about it you love. This is that for me.

 

Death Cab For Cutie Narrow StairsDeath Cab For Cutie 

I didn’t actually buy this album until Christmas. Sad, I know. But I streamed it a ton, and have loved it for a long time. Ben Gibbard is amazing, as always. And now he’s engaged to Zooey Deschanel, which makes me even happier. Sigh.

 

Dr. Dog Fatedr-dog 

Another one I don’t have much to say about, but I love it. So it’s here.

 

Tilly & the Wall OTill & The Wall

This album makes me so incredibly happy, and I just want to dance and play and have fun. That’s all.

 

Adele 19Adele 

This album I got right as I started reading the Twilight series. Therefore everytime I listen to this I think about Edward Cullen. Who wouldn’t love that??? She’s coming to Nashville in March, and I already have my tickets. I. Cannot. Wait.

 

Williams Fitzsimmons The Sparrow And The CrowWilliam Fitzsimmons  

Another album we didn’t get until about a month ago. I love it though. Jon put the song “After, Afterall” on a mix he made me for Christmas, and it was perfect, and made me love the album all the more.

 

Britney Spears CircusBritney Spears 

Had to add this one in, no matter how much I will get ridiculed, laughed at, looked down on. I don’t care. I love Britney Spears. Always have. Always will. There is no explainable reason. I was super excited for this album to come out (release date was a day before my 27th birthday), and it did not disappoint. It is a solid pop record.

 

So that’s it. Finally. Done. I’m not making promises that I didn’t forget something and won’t come back and add it later. But for now – time to look forward to what 2009 has to offer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under lists, music

3 responses to “and without further ado – my best albums of 2008 list

  1. jon arnold

    nice list my love. 🙂

  2. thanks for not ridiculing me for britney. 🙂

  3. I felt cool that I had at least heard of 60% of the artists on your list! Although if we’re counting only albums that I actually heard part of, we’re down to about 30%. Britney, Adele, and She & Him.

    I was thinking of making a top 10 albums list, but I’m so inclined to get one thing and then obsess over it for too long that I couldn’t even come up with ten new albums I heard this year. I could only think of the Twilight soundtrack, Augustana’s “Can’t Love, Can’t Win,” and the same Needtobreathe album that I’ve been listening to nonstop for about 18 months now. Sigh. I think I’ll just have to concede that I am not now nor never will be musically cultured. 🙂

Leave a Reply

